• 07 09, 2019

    Academic Calendar 2019


    Academic Calendar (Undergraduate School) Academic Calendar (Graduate School: Tsukuba)

    Spring Semester (April 1, 2019 - September 30, 2019)
    Events Undergraduate School Graduate School
    Note: Dates for Tokyo Campus are marked with 【 】
    First Day of the Academic Year Monday, April 1 Monday, April 1
    Spring Recess Monday, April 1 - Sunday, April 7 Monday, April 1 - Sunday, April 7
    【Monday, April 1 - Monday, April 8】
    Entrance Ceremony Monday, April 8 Monday, April 8
    【Saturday, April 6】
    Freshman/New Student Orientation Monday, April 8 - Wednesday, April 10 Monday, April 8 - Tuesday, April 9
    【Saturday, April 6】
    Spring Semester Classes Begin Thursday, April 11 Wednesday, April 10
    【Tuesday, April 9】
    Spring Sports Day Saturday, May 11 - Sunday, May 12 Saturday, May 11 - Sunday, May 12
    Spring Modules A and B Final Examination Week Friday, June 28 - Thursday, July 4 Friday, June 28 - Thursday, July 4
    Spring Modules A, B and C Final Examination Week Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9 Monday, August 5 - Friday, August 9
    【Tuesday, July 30 - Saturday, August 3】
    Spring Semester Classes End Friday, August 9 Friday, August 9
    【Saturday, July 27】
    Final Examination Preparation Day 【Tuesday, August 6 - Thursday, August 8】
    Summer Recess Saturday, August 10 - Monday, September 30 Saturday, August 10 - Monday, September 30
    【Friday, August 9 - Monday, September 30】
    Commencement Ceremony Wednesday, September 25
    Graduate School Commencement Ceremony Wednesday, September 25


    Fall Semester (October 1, 2019 - March 31, 2020)
    Events Undergraduate School Graduates School
    Note: Dates for Tokyo Campus are marked with 【 】
    Entrance Ceremony for Fall Semester Monday, September 30 Monday, September 30
    ★1 Anniversary of the University Tuesday, October 1 Tuesday, October 1
    Fall Semester Classes Begin Tuesday, October 1 Tuesday, October 1
    【Tuesday, October 1】
    Campus-Wide Power Outage (Tsukuba campus) Saturday, October 26 - Sunday, October 27 Saturday, October 26 - Sunday, October 27
    ★2 University Festival Saturday, November 2 - Monday, November 4 Saturday, November 2 - Monday, November 4
    Fall Module A Examination Preparation Day Monday, November 11 Monday, November 11
    Autumn Sports Day Saturday, November 16 - Sunday, November 17 Saturday, November 16 - Sunday, November 17
    Fall Modules A and B Final Examination Week Friday, December 20 - Thursday, December 26 Friday, December 20 - Thursday, December 26
    Winter Recess Friday, December 27 - Sunday, January 5 Friday, December 27 - Sunday, January 5
    【Wednesday, December 25 - Monday, January 6】
    Fall Modules A, B and C Final Examination Week Tuesday, February 4, Friday, February 7,
    Monday, February 10, Wednesday, February 12,
    Thursday, February 13
    Tuesday, February 4, Friday, February 7,
    Monday, February 10, Wednesday, February 12,
    Thursday, February 13
    【Tuesday, January 28 - Friday, January 31,Saturday, February 15】
    Fall Semester Classes End Thursday, February 13 Thursday, February 13
    【Saturday, February 8】
    Final Examination Preparation Day Friday, February 14 Friday, February 14
    【Tuesday, February 4 - Thursday, February 6】
    Spring Recess Saturday, February 15 - Tuesday, March 31 Saturday, February 15 - Tuesday, March 31
    【Sunday, February 16 - Tuesday, March 31】
    Commencement Ceremony Wednesday, March 25
    Graduate School Commencement Ceremony Wednesday, March 25
    【Saturday, March 28】
    Last Day of the Academic Year Tuesday, March 31 Tuesday, March 31
    【Tuesday, March 31】

    Notes:

    • ★1.For the Anniversary of the University, classes will not be cancelled but will be held on Tuesday, October 1.
    • ★2. Due to post-festival clean-up of the University Festival, classes on Tuesday, November 5 will be postponed (excludes classes at the Tokyo campus).
    • 3. The schedule for the regular health checkup will be announced at a later time. Classes for undergraduate schools, colleges and graduate schools during the scheduled health checkup will be cancelled (excludes classes at the Tokyo campus).
    • 4. To meet the required number of school days, some classes will be held on the days stated below (excludes classes at the Tokyo campus).
      - May 9: Monday classes will be held.
      - July 19: Monday classes will be held.
      - October 18: Monday classes will be held.
      - November 6: Monday classes will be held.
      - November 7: Tuesday classes will be held.
      - November 26: Friday classes will be held.
      - January 16: Friday classes will be held.
      - January 22: Monday classes will be held.
    • 5.Classes on Wednesday, November 27 - Friday, November 29 will be recessed due to the Examination for University Admissions upon Recommendation (Suisen nyūshi shiken) and its related events (excludes classes at the Tokyo campus).
    • 6. Classes on Friday, January 17 and Monday, January 20 will be recessed due to the National Center Test for University Admissions (Daigaku nyūshi sentā shiken) and its related events. (excludes classes at the Tokyo campus).
    • 7. For the School of Medicine, the University will schedule March 10, 2020 as the date of graduation, but the commencement ceremony will be held on the date scheduled above.

    * One academic year contains two semesters (spring semester and fall semester) which includes six modules, Spring A, Spring B, Spring C, Fall A, Fall B and Fall C. Each module has five weeks.

    Copyright © 2016 University of Tsukuba All Rights Reserved.

    1-1-1 Tennodai, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8577 Japan