• 2016 AEARU Young Researchers International Conference

    09 17-18, 2016

    The 2016 Association of East Asian Research Universities Young Researchers International Conference (AEARU-YRIC) was held under the theme of “Innovation for the future - towards human well-being & a sustainable society” at the Tsukuba International Congress Center from September 17 to 18. AEARU is an association composed of 18 leading research-oriented universities in East Asia.

    The conference was held with the help of the AEARU Secretariat, and staff of the Faculty of Engineering, Information and Systems, the Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, the Faculty of Library, Information and Media Science, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, and the Office of Global Initiatives, University of Tsukuba.

    A total of 24 young researchers from 9 AEARU-member universities (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Nanjing University, Peking University, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Seoul National University, Tohoku University, Tokyo Institute of Technology, and the University of Tsukuba) and two Korean universities, including Konkuk University and the Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology attended the conference.

    Keynote lectures were delivered by Professor Kenji Suzuki and Associate Professor Fumihide Tanaka of the Faculty of Engineering, Information and Systems. In addition, Assistant Professor Mai Otsuki and Assistant Professor Tomoyuki Yamaguchi gave lectures as guest speakers.
    Researchers from various fields were engaged in a lively discussion during the conference.

    On September 19, the AEARU-YRIC members went on an excursion to Space Museum TeNQ at the Tokyo Dome City and Asakusa in Tokyo.

    The AEARU-YRIC was a great opportunity to promote exchange among young researchers, who have different subject fields, from various universities and countries.

    Vice President Caroline Fern Benton making an opening speech

    Professor Kenji Suzuki giving a keynote lecture

    Associate Professor Fumihide Tanaka giving a keynote lecture

    Research presentation session

    Commemorative photo

    Excursion to TeNQ

    Excursion to Asakusa

    AEARU-YRIC members attending a reception with President Nagata

    Copyright © 2016 University of Tsukuba All Rights Reserved.

    1-1-1 Tennodai, Tsukuba, Ibaraki 305-8577 Japan